Field Notes — 10/4/13

As a child, I grew up on 5 acres, lived on a dirt county road and spent my afternoon stomping through the woods around our house. Those 10 year old memories are fond, but as I grew into the man I traveled and lived in cities thus creating a wedge in my knowledge in woodsmanship.

As we all head into the woods this fall I wanted to attribute this weeks Field Notes as a reminder of the skills necessary to posses in the woods. It doesn’t matter if your stalking your prey, chasing the fall coho or king salmon or heading out to forage your favorite fall mushroom patch. These are skills that we should all possess and I can only speak of myself, but I know I have gaps and areas of weakness.

Woodsmanship Basic: 10 Things Technology Won’t Do For You
This article by Aron Snyder really hit home for me, not only as a new bow hunter, but also as someone who feels pretty comfortable in the woods and yet it also shows me just how much I don’t know and still need to learn.

Survive Anything
This story highlights both some serious natured issues one will face in the woods, but my favorite necessary skill is how to brew coffee over an open fire. Ok, maybe not a necessity for survival but it sure helps with an attitude adjustment on a cold & wet northwest day.

Woodsmanship 101: Take a Tarp
Typically when I take a tarp into the woods it main use is for a footprint underneath my small backpacking tent. The tarp I take is just one of those blue poly tarps you can pick up from a place like Harbor Freight. After watching this video, I realize that I need to practice various other methods for using my tarp and to possibly upgrade to a sturdier cloth tarp, but I also need to justify the additional weight in my pack.

Eight Ways To Carry Less Backpacking Gear
Brian’s Backpacking Blog I’ve found super helpful as a hunter. While its important to carry what you need into the woods for an extended trip, sometimes needs vs wants and the weight associated with each item may outweigh the ‘need’ to bring it with you. This is a great article on some ways to reduce and find multiple uses for items that make it into your pack while reduce the overall weight of the pack.

Leave a Reply

